• In the tradition of Jon Krakauer's Into Thin Air and Sebastian Junger'sThe Perfect Storm comes a true tale of riveting adventure in which two weekend scuba divers risk everything to solve a great historical mystery-and make history themselves.

    Grand format N.C.
    Prix indicatif - Contacter votre libraire
    Indisponible
  • In the tradition of Jon Krakaueryes'>#8217;s Into Thin Air and Sebastian Jungeryes'>#8217;s The Perfect Storm comes a true tale of riveting adventure in which two weekend scuba divers risk everything to solve a great historical mysteryyes'>#8211;and make history themselves.For John Chatterton and Richie Kohler, deep wreck diving was more than a sport. Testing themselves against treacherous currents, braving depths that induced hallucinatory effects, navigating through wreckage as perilous as a minefield, they pushed themselves to their limits and beyond, brushing against death more than once in the rusting hulks of sunken ships.But in the fall of 1991, not even these courageous divers were prepared for what they found 230 feet below the surface, in the frigid Atlantic waters sixty miles off the coast of New Jersey: a World War II German Uboat, its ruined interior a macabre wasteland of twisted metal, tangled wires, and human bonesyes'>#8211;all buried under decades of accumulated sediment.No identifying marks were visible on the submarine or the few artifacts brought to the surface. No historian, expert, or government had a clue as to which Uboat the men had found. In fact, the official records all agreed that there simply could not be a sunken Uboat and crew at that location.Over the next six years, an elite team of divers embarked on a quest to solve the mystery. Some of them would not live to see its end. Chatterton and Kohler, at fist bitter rivals, would be drawn into a friendship that deepened to an almost mystical sense of brotherhood with each other and with the drowned Uboat sailorsyes'>#8211;former enemies of their country. As the menyes'>#8217;s marriages frayed under the pressure of a shared obsession, their dives grew more daring, and each realized that he was hunting more than the identities of a lost Uboat and its nameless crew.Author Robert Kursonyes'>#8217;s account of this quest is at once thrilling and emotionally complex, and it is written with a vivid sense of what divers actually experience when they meet the dangers of the oceanyes'>#8217;s underworld. The story of Shadow Divers often seems too amazing to be true, but it all happened, two hundred thirty feet down, in the deep blue sea.From the Hardcover edition.

    Poche N.C.
    Prix indicatif - Contacter votre libraire
    Sur commande
empty