• Anglais The Last Summer

    Judith Kinghorn

    1914, the beginning of a blissful, golden summer...Judith Kinghorn's The Last Summer is a dramatic and moving novel set against the heartbreak of the First World War. The perfect read for fans of Kate Morton and Sarra Manning. 'Epic and enthralling' - Woman & Home Clarissa is 17, the world her own. Who would know that this could be the last summer?Deyning Park is in its heyday, the large country house filled with the laughter and excitement of privileged youth preparing for a weekend party. When Clarissa meets Tom Cuthbert, home from university, she is dazzled. Tom is handsome and enigmatic; he is also an outsider. Ambitious, clever, his sights set on a career in law, Tom is an acute observer, and a man who knows what he wants. For now, that is Clarissa. As Tom and Clarissa's friendship deepens, the wider landscape of political life around them is changing, and soon the world - and all that they know - is rocked irrevocably by a war that changes their lives for ever.What readers are saying about The Last Summer:'A beautiful story of two people who were meant to be together despite all that life throws at them''A gripping storyline full of dilemmas, emotions and overwhelmingly moving events''Beautifully written, compelling, moving & evocative of the era in which it is set. The author deserves every positive accolade'

  • 1911. A country house. A long, hot summer. A story of love...From the author of The Snow Globe, comes an absorbing, evocative and rich period drama of buried secrets and lost love in an Edwardian summer. The Memory of Lost Senses is perfect for fans of Kate Morton and Rachel Hore. 'Witty, clever and compelling, with a beautiful love story at its heart' - Jane HarrisWhen a mysterious countess arrives late in life to live at a large, deserted house on the edge of a sleepy Hampshire village, the local tongues start wagging. No one is more intrigued than Cecily Chadwick, idling away the long, hot summer of 1911 with nothing much to do. Cecily is fascinated by the exotic elderly lady and, as she gets to know her, is riveted by her tales of expatriate life on the continent, and of whom she once knew. But the countess is troubled: by her memories, her name, and by anonymous threats to reveal a ruinous secret... It is, she has decided, up to her close friend, a successful novelist who has come to stay for the summer, to put the record straight. For aspiring writer Cecily, the novelist's presence only adds to the intrigue and pull of the house. But it is the countess's grandson, Jack, his unanswered questions about his grandmother's past and his desire to know the truth, that draw Cecily further into the tangled web of the countess's life, and the place known as Temple Hill.What readers are saying about The Memory of Lost Senses:'Oh, how I loved these characters when the story was lifted from the pages to me, crafted in Judith's clear narrative voice''A story of love, passion and memories - often unreliable - beautifully told with an effortless languorous feel as the history and drama unfolds' 'A well-structured novel that has been so beautifully written it is well worthy of five stars'

  • Inside the glass orb was a miniature garden and a house. If she stared long enough, she could almost see the people inside. But whether they were trapped there, or kept safe, in that miniscule snowbound world, she couldn't have said...
    Christmas 1926 holds bright promise for nineteen-year-old Daisy Forbes, with celebrations under way at Eden Hall, her family's country estate in Surrey, England. But when Daisy, the youngest of three daughters, discovers that her adored father, Howard, has been leading a double life, her illusions of perfection are shattered. Worse, his current mistress, introduced as a family friend, is joining them for the holidays. As Daisy wrestles with the truth, she blossoms in her own right, receiving a marriage proposal from one man, a declaration of love from another, and her first kiss from a third. Meanwhile, her mother, Mabel, manages these social complications with outward calm, while privately reviewing her life and contemplating significant changes. And among those below stairs, Nancy, the housekeeper, and Mrs. Jessops, the cook, find that their long-held secrets are slowly beginning to surface...
    As the seasons unfold in the new year, and Daisy moves to London, desires, fortunes, and loyalties will shift during this tumultuous time after the Great War. The Forbes family and those who serve them will follow their hearts down unexpected paths that always return to where they began...Eden Hall.

  • "An enchanting, atmospheric work of historical fiction that is a rich blend of Downton Abbey and Jane Eyre. The Echo ofTwilight is a wonderful novel to curl up with this winter."--Booklist
    From the acclaimed author of The Last Summer, a captivating and moving story of the unlikely relationship between a lady and her maid on the eve of World War I.
    As I watched him--his long legs striding the narrow path through the heather, his golden hair catching the sun--I had a hideous feeling in the pit of my stomach. For it seemed as though he was already marching away from me.
    In 1914, despite the clouds of war threatening Europe, Pearl Gibson’s future is bright. She has secured a position as a lady’s maid to a wealthy Northumberland aristocrat, a job that will win her not only respect but an opportunity to travel and live in luxury. Her new life at Lady Ottoline Campbell’s Scottish summer estate is a whirlwind of intrigue and glamour, scandals and confidences--and surprisingly, a strange but intimate friendship with her employer.
    But when violence erupts in Europe, Pearl and Ottoline’s world is irrevocably changed. As the men in their lives are called to the front lines, leaving them behind to anxiously brace for bad news, Pearl realizes she must share one final secret with her mistress--a secret that will bind them together forever...

  • Eté 1911. Une excentrique comtesse revient vivre dans sa propriété de Temple Hill, au cœur de la campagne anglaise. Elle a l'intention de passer l'été au manoir pour écrire ses mémoires. Les habitants s'interrogent sur cette vieille dame et sa vie mystérieuse. Des rumeurs circulent sur ses maris et ses enfants, tous décédés... Cecily, une jeune villageoise, est fascinée par l'étrangeté du personnage. Bientôt, elle recueille certaines confidences de la comtesse qui a longtemps vécu entre Paris et Rome. L'été caniculaire échauffe les esprits et la vieille dame est de plus en plus troublée : par une mémoire parfois vacillante mais surtout par ces menaces lui ordonnant de taire un secret remontant à des décennies... « Un somptueux roman qui séduira les fans de Downton Abbey. » (Bookseller)

  • Anglais The Last Summer

    Kinghorn Judith

    I was almost seventeen when the spell of my childhood was broken...It was the beginning of summer and, unbeknown to any of us then, the end of a belle epoque...
    In July of 1914, innocent, lovely Clarissa Granville lives with her parents and three brothers in the idyllic isolation of Deyning Park, a grand English country house, where she whiles away her days enjoying house parties, country walks and tennis matches. Clarissa is drawn to Tom Cuthbert, the housekeeper's handsome son. Though her parents disapprove of their upstairs-downstairs friendship, the two are determined to see each other, and they meet in secret to share what becomes a deep and tender romance. But soon the winds of war come to Deyning, as they come to all of Europe. As Tom prepares to join the front lines, neither he nor Clarissa can envision what lies ahead of them in the dark days and years to come. Nor can they imagine how their love will be tested, or how they will treasure the memory of this last, perfect summer.

  • Within weeks letters would be burned, pages torn. Promises would be broken and hearts betrayed. But for now the countryside languished, golden and fading...
    Cecily Chadwick is idling away the long, hot summer of 1911 when a mysterious countess moves into the large, deserted country house on the edge of her sleepy English village. Rumors abound about the countess's many husbands and lovers, her opulent wealth, and the tragedies that have marked her life. As Cecily gets to know her, she becomes fascinated by the remarkable woman-'riveted by her tales of life on the Continent, and of the famous people she once knew. But the countess is clearly troubled by her memories, and by ruinous secrets that haunt her...
    /> Staying with the countess is a successful novelist and dear friend who has been summoned to write the countess's memoirs. For aspiring writer Cecily, the novelist's presence only adds to the intrigue of the house. But it is the countess's grandson, Jack, who draws Cecily further into the tangled web of the countess's past, and sweeps her into an uncertain future...

empty