• Anglais Rebel Belle

    Hawkins Rachel

    Harper Price, peerless Southern belle, was born ready for a Homecoming tiara. But after a strange run-in at the dance imbues her with incredible abilities, Harper's destiny takes a turn for the seriously weird. She becomes a Paladin, one of an ancient line of guardians with agility, super strength and lethal fighting instincts.
    Just when life can't get any more disastrously crazy, Harper finds out who she's charged to protect: David Stark, school reporter, subject of a mysterious prophecy and possibly Harper's least favorite person. But things get complicated when Harper starts falling for him--and discovers that David's own fate could very well be to destroy Earth.
    With snappy banter, cotillion dresses, non-stop action and a touch of magic, this new young adult series from bestseller Rachel Hawkins is going to make y'all beg for more.

  • Cette réécriture de Jane Eyre à l'époque contemporaine est aussi un fabuleux thriller psychologique.
    Jane est pet-sitter dans le quartier cossu de Thornfield Estates. Un jour, elle se fait renverser par une splendide voiture... au volant de laquelle se trouve un homme non moins séduisant : Edward Rochester. Jane n'est pas insensible à son charme, et il n'est pas exclu qu'Eddie ait un faible pour elle. Quand elle découvre que Mr Rochester est veuf, et que la place est libre, Jane est prête à se jeter corps et âme dans son idylle naissante avec lui. Tout la fascine dans le mode de vie de ces gens fortunés qui n'ont jamais manqué de rien.
    Jane rêve de devenir Mrs Rochester pour rompre définitivement avec sa vie passée dont elle n'a rien révélé. Mais Eddie lui a-t-il dit toute la vérité à son sujet ?

  • Une Bridget Jones à la sauce royaleDaisy, Américaine de 17 ans, est catapultée dans le monde fastueux de la royauté lorsque sa soeur se fiance au prince d'Écosse.
    Elle qui aime le franc-parler et la simplicité découvre un univers régi par le protocole et la retenue. Elle a bien du mal à s'adapter, surtout que rien ne se passe comme prévu : le petit frère du prince lui fait des avances, alors qu'elle s'amourache d'un certain duc pince-sans-rire, à qui on a demandé de jouer son faux petit ami pour la presse... Entre fantasme et réalité, il n'y a parfois qu'un pas.
    Ado+

  • New York Times bestselling author Rachel Hawkins is sassier than ever in this page-turning follow up to Rebel Belle, perfect for fans of Buffy and Veronica Mars.
    Life is almost back to normal for Harper Price. The Ephors have been silent after their deadly attack at Cotillion months ago, and best friend Bee has returned after a mysterious disappearance. Now Harper can return her focus to the important things in life: school, canoodling with David, her nemesis-turned-ward-slash-boyfie, and even competing in the Miss Pine Grove pageant.
    Unfortunately, supernatural chores are never done. The Ephors have decided they'd rather train David than kill him. The catch: Harper has to come along for the ride, but she can't stay David's Paladin unless she undergoes an an ancient trial that will either kill her . . . or make her more powerful than ever.

  • From the New York Times bestselling author of Hex Hall comes the sparkling finale in the beloved Rebel Belle series.
    Just as Harper Price starts coming to terms with her role as David Stark's battle-ready Paladin, protector, and girlfriend--her world goes crazy all over again.
    Overwhelmed by his Oracle powers, David flees Pine Grove and starts turning teenaged girls into Paladins--and these young ladies seem to think that Harper is the enemy David needs protecting from. Ordinarily, Harper would be able to fight off any Paladin who comes her way, but her powers have been dwindling since David left town, which means her life is on the line yet again.
    Now, it’s a desperate race for Harper to find and rescue David before she backslides from superhero to your garden-variety type-A belle.
    New York Times bestselling author Rachel Hawkins brings the fun once again in the finale of this pitch-perfect romantic paranormal comedy series.
    From the Hardcover edition.

  • New York Times bestselling author Rachel Hawkins brings us a riveting middle grade fantasy-adventure, perfect for fans of Lisa Graff.
    The town of Journey's End may not literally be at the end of the world, but it sure feels like it to Nolie Stanhope. Spending the summer with her scientist father in the tiny Scottish village isn't exactly Nolie's idea of a good time, but she soon finds a friend: native Journey's Ender Bel McKissick.
    While Nolie's father came to Journey's End to study the Boundary--a mysterious fog bank offshore--Bel's family can’t afford to consider it a threat. The McKissick’s livelihood depends on the tourists drawn by legends of a curse. Still, whether you believe in magic or science, going into the Boundary means you'll never come back.
    …Unless you do. Albert Etheridge, a boy who disappeared into the Boundary in 1914, suddenly returns--without having aged a day and with no memory of the past hundred years. Then the Boundary starts creeping closer to the town, threatening to consume everyone within.
    While Nolie's father wants to have the village evacuated, Bel's parents lead the charge to stay in Journey's End. Meanwhile, Albert and the girls look for ways to stop the encroaching boundary, coming across an ancient Scottish spell that requires magic, a quest, and a sacrifice.
    From the Hardcover edition.

empty