• A deeply felt book that explores intimacy through the stories of eight relationships, from a leading neuroscientist and author of How We Feel.What is intimacy and why do we need it?Intimacy is that moment when our true identity is revealed to another, when traumas, fears, and ambitions are shared. Whether in friendship, love or family, intimacy redresses itself constantly, demanding we raze emotional barriers and discover who we really are. Through the ordinary stories of eight relationships, neuroscientist Giovanni Frazzetto has woven an extraordinary narrative of togetherness. He shares the details of romantic partners trapped in a long cycle of attraction and rejection, a single woman who finds herself deep in a fictional relationship with a boyfriend she has invented out of frustration with her love life, and a couple absorbed in a years-long clandestine affair. But intimacy can also extend beyond romantic encounters: coping with the loss of a loved one, dealing with overbearing or emotionally distant parents, or celebrating the joys and comforts of our dearest friends. In Together, Closer, Frazzetto unravels the components of intimacy in all of these relationships, illuminating the mysteries, challenges, and pleasures of intimacy through a brilliant mix of storytelling and science.

  • “Together, Closer examines the way humans relate to each other across a spectrum of relationships from parent-child to platonic friendships and, of course, romantic love.” --The Guardian
    “An ambitious project . . . Giovanni Frazzetto marries science with art, the most recent discoveries of neuroscience with human stories about intimacy. . . . A clear love of art and science shines from the book.” --The Irish Times
    For readers of Oliver Sacks and Stephen Grosz, a wondrous, deeply felt book that explores intimacy through the stories of eight relationships, from the author of Joy, Guilt, Anger, Love
    The bonds we are capable of feeling toward other people--how we know and belong to one another--provide fascinating glimpses into the intricacies of human behavior. Intimacy is that moment when our true identity is revealed to another, when traumas, fears, and ambitions are shared. Through the ordinary stories of eight relationships, Giovanni Frazzetto has woven an extraordinary narrative of togetherness. He shares the details of romantic partners trapped in a long cycle of attraction and rejection, a single woman who finds herself deep in a fictional relationship with a boyfriend she has invented out of frustration with her love life, and a couple absorbed in a years-long clandestine affair. But intimacy can also extend beyond romantic encounters: coping with the loss of a loved one, dealing with overbearing or emotionally distant parents, or celebrating the joys and comforts of our dearest friends.
    In Together, Closer, Frazzetto unravels the components of intimacy in all of these relationships, illuminating the mysteries, challenges, and pleasures of intimacy through a brilliant mix of storytelling and science.
    Praise for Giovanni Frazzetto’s Joy, Guilt, Anger, Love:
    “In Frazzetto’s book, the Italian researcher and writer offers a fine primer on six emotions plus empathy. But before diving into the biology of each emotion (the role of the amygdala in fear and of serotonin reuptake in grief), he inspects his target through the lenses of psychology, philosophy, art, and personal experience. What you see is that poetry offers more insight into our feelings than does neuroanatomy or biochemistry.”
    --The Washington Post

  • What can a brain scan, or our reaction to a Caravaggio painting, reveal about the deep seat of guilt?

    How can reading Heidegger, or conducting experiments on rats, help us to cope with anxiety in the face of the world's economic crisis?

    Can ancient remedies fight sadness more effectively than anti-depressants?

    What does the neuroscience of acting tell us about how we feel empathy, and fall for an actor on stage?

    What can writing poetry tell us about how joy works?

    And how can a bizarre neurological syndrome or a Shakespearean sonnet explain love and intimacy?

    We live at a time when neuroscience is unlocking the secrets of our emotions. But is science ever enough to explain why we feel the way we feel?

    Giovanni Frazzetto takes us on a journey through our everyday lives and most common emotions. In each chapter, his scientific knowledge mixes with personal experience to offer a compelling account of the continual contrast between rationality and sentiment, science and poetry. And he shows us that by facing this contrast, we can more fully understand ourselves and how we feel.

    Poche N.C.
    Prix indicatif - Contacter votre libraire
    Sur commande
  • Grand format N.C.
    Prix indicatif - Contacter votre libraire
    Sur commande
empty