Ali Benjamin

  • Being the new kid at school is never easy, and when you have to follow in the footsteps of a great classroom prankster like Paulie Fink, you've got to learn how to become a legend. Told via multiple voices and interviews, The Next Great Paulie Fink is a lighthearted yet surprisingly touching exploration of how we build up and tear down all of the many myths of ourselves and of others.

    Grand format N.C.
    Livre étranger - Contacter votre libraire
  • THE SMASH-UP

    Ali Benjamin

    B>A family is upended when their small-town life becomes the latest battlefield in the culture wars in this of-the-moment novel for readers of Meg Wolitzer and Fleishman Is in Trouble/b>br>br>Life for Ethan and Zo used to be simple. Ethan co-founded a lucrative media start-up, and Zo was well on her way to becoming a successful filmmaker. Then they moved to a rural community for a little more tranquility--or so they thought. br>br>When newfound political activism transforms Zo into a barely recognizable ball of outrage and #MeToo allegations rock his old firm, Ethan finds himself a misfit in his own life. Enter a houseguest who is young, fun, and not at all concerned with the real world, and Ethan is abruptly forced to question everything: his past, his future, his marriage, and what he values most.br>br>Startling, witty, thought-provoking, and wise, Ali Benjamin''s exciting debut novel offers the shock of recognition as it deftly illuminates some of the biggest issues of our time. Taking inspiration from a classic Edith Wharton tale about a small-town love triangle, The Smash-Up is a wholly contemporary exploration of how the things we fail to see can fracture a life, a family, a community, and a nation.

    Grand format N.C.
    Livre étranger - Contacter votre libraire
  • On dit qu'on ne peut pas savoir. On dit que ce sont parfois des choses qui arrivent... Mais Suzy Swanson, 12 ans, ne peut accepter de se résigner.
    Hantée par la perte de celle qui a été sa meilleure amie Franny Jackson, retrouvée noyée pendant l'été - et par les regrets liés à l'inéluctable fin de leur amitié juste avant les grandes vacances - Suzy veut comprendre pourquoi Franny n'est plus là. Face à cette incompréhensible disparition, elle recherche une explication, une explication qu'elle veut résolument scientifique. Fascinée par l'univers merveilleux des méduses, elle se confronte ainsi aux mystères de l'univers, et se convainc peu à peu que Franny a été piquée par une Irukandji, minuscule méduse dont la piqûre peut paralyser tout le corps. Bien décidée à faire éclater la vérité, elle élabore pour cela un plan précis, quitte à se rendre à l'autre bout de la planète...
    Elle découvrira ainsi que, malgré l'absurdité de la mort et la douleur de la perte, c'est toujours l'amitié, l'amour, la solidarité familiale et cet indispensable rapport à l'autre, salutaire et profondément guérisseur, qui nous aident à vivre.

  • Paige Rawl est une adolescente rayonnante. Pom-pom girl, footballeuse, excellente élève, tout semble lui réussir. Jusqu'au jour où elle révèle son secret à sa meilleure amie : elle est séropositive, sa mère lui a transmis le HIV. Dans les heures qui suivent, le harcèlement commence. Ses camarades laissent des mots cruels dans son casier. Ils chuchotent sur son passage. Paige ne s'est jamais sentie aussi seule. Pour la première fois, elle ne sourit plus. Cela aurait pu être la fin de son histoire. Mais cela en était le début.
     

empty